Skip to main content

History : China: Welcome

Background Information

Background exploration of a topic  is crucial to good research.  Reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are the tools to use if you want to get an overview of a subject, find definitions of terms, get biographical information on a key figure in the field, or locate recommended lists of readings.

Look at some of the background sources recommended, whether they are individual print and electronic titles or collections in a database.

For quick overview information on a country, try some of the following resources:

      

Countries of the World and Their Leaders         

Websites

 CIA World Factbook 

GlobalEdge (free but registration required

 

Print reference titles

Also, take a look at some of the encyclopedias recommended from the Reference Collection, 1st floor.

 

Databases with Electronic Reference Titles

Credo Reference is an example of a database containing electronic reference books.

 

 

Welcome

 

Qilin statue at the Summer Palace (Beijing, China).   It was cast during the reign of Emperor Qianlong.

   Author: Miguel A. Monjas  Date: 07/20, 2005   This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

. 

 

Reference Print Titles

                               

   

Countries and Their Cultures                      Encyclopedia of Modern Asia          

Ref 363.03 C83265tc                                   Ref 950.03 En194ma                    

                     

  

   

  Historical Dictionary of People's Republic of China                                                                       

   Ref 951.0503 Su54h                                                       

Maps and Atlases

Research Librarian

Profile Image

M.A., M.L.S.  Social Sciences

email:  carolyn.filippelli@uafs.edu  Office phone:  479-788-7204

 
 Services Available from your Research Librarian:
  • Research Consultations (walk in or appointment)
  • Resource suggestions for Class Assignments and Group projects 
  • Help with search strategies for databases and catalogs