Skip to main content

Engineering: Getting Started

Welcome

This is a guide to library resources and services useful for engineering.  Individual tabs provide access to live links for databases and online catalogs.

                                       

                                                                Seattle Engineering Department Plan Vault, 1936  Seattle Municipal Archives 

                                                                              (Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license)                                                                                            

DISCOVER

Discover is a multi search similar to a Google search.   Type in a keyword, a subject, or a phrase and retrieve many references from Boreham Library databases and catalogs.   Books, e-books, journals, and magazines are included as types of sources.   World Catalog database, Lexis Nexis, and Proquest databases are not included in this service. 

Search Strategy

When searching for information on a topic, it is a good idea to have a SEARCH STRATEGY.  The following steps are recommended:

  • Brainstorm keywords or subjects that describe the topic.

  •  Decide what types of information are needed - current, historical, background, articles, books, or other.

  •  Search information tools that will provide the needed information:   Databases      Catalogs      Websites

  •  Find books and copies of articles or newspapers.  Create an account for Interlibrary Loan to get materials that are not available in Boreham Library.

  •  Evaluate references and make selections to include in the bibliography.

  •  Use ZOTERO, style guides, or other citation managers to provide help in preparing a bibliography.

Useful Tips

  • The Boreham Library is open until midnight on M T W TH Su during fall and spring semester. 

  • There is a 24/7 zone for after hours study.

  • You can access databases off campus at any time by using your University ID.

  • You can find out when your books are due or renew books at My Library Account in the online catalog.

  •  You can create an Interlibary Loan account to order articles and books when they are not available in the Boreham Library. There is no cost for Interlibrary Loan Service.

  •  Reference Librarians are available to help at any time at the library, through e-mail Library@uafs.edu , or by phone.