Skip to main content

Psychology: Getting Started

This guide is an introduction to resources in psychology.

Welcome

 

This is a guide to resources for psychology.  The tabs at the top of the guide provide information on how to find articles from databases, search for books, and locate additional resources. 

         Contact your librarian for more assistance. 

Sigmund Freud's Inner Circle

Image(s) provided courtesy of www.all-about-psychology.com/

 

 

Background Information

Background exploration of a topic  is crucial to good research.  Reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are the tools to use if you want to get an overview of a subject, find definitions of terms, get biographical information on a key figure in the field, or locate recommended lists of readings.

Look at some of the background sources recommended, whether they are individual print and electronic titles or collections in a database. 

CREDO is an example of a database containing a collection of electronic reference titles.

Reference Print and Electronic Titles

 Print reference titles are available on the first floor of the library.  

   Cover Art                                   Return to product information   

 

Encyclopedia of Human Behavior            Encyclopedia of Psychology

Ref 150.3 En 19h                                   Ref 150 H1911p               

 

    Cover Art                                 

Encyclopedia of Social Psychology            DSM V

Ref 302.03 En197sp                                 Ref 616.89075 D54

         

  Cover Art                             Cover Art

            

Handbook of Psychology              Pictorial History of Psychology

Ref 150 H19171p                         Ref 150.9022 P1589h                 

                   

 

Qualitative Research in Psychology   Criminal Psychology

Ref 150.72 Sa184h                           Ref 364.3 C8684p

                                                        

Reference E-Books

These are some print and electronic book titles accessible from the Boreham Library catalog.  For electronic books, click on the title link for access.

Research Librarian

Carolyn Filippelli
 
Contact Info:
Boreham Library, 1st floor
Office Phone: 479-788-7204
carolyn.filippelli@uafs.edu
 
  Services Available from your Research Librarian:
  • Research Consultations (walk in or appointment)
  • Resource suggestions for class assignments and group projects 
  • Help with search strategies for databases and catalogs