Skip to main content

Discover: a Quick Guide: Discover: a Quick Guide

What is Discover?

Our new Discover service searches through the library's entire catalog and most of our databases (except for LexisNexis and Gale databases) to get the results you're looking for.

Try a search and you'll get many, many relevant results from our databases, the catalog, and our e-books.

If your instructors have asked you to find peer-reviewed articles, you can do that with Discover.

If you want only articles from the past year, you can limit your search.

You can combine different search terms to get exactly what you're looking for.

This guide gives some quick tips on how to use Discover.

How to use Discover

If you've used an Ebsco database like Academic Search Premier before, Discover will look very familiar:

 


 

   

With the sidebar on the left, you can limit your search to full-text, peer-reviewed articles, articles from a particular date range, or items from the catalog (books and e-books).

If you limit to full-text, all of your results should be available for you to read right now. Some of your results will have a link to  PDF Full Text or HTML Full Text.

 


 

Some of your results might have this instead of a direct full-text link: . If you've already limited your search to full-text, you should be able to click "Search for Full Text" and go directly to the article.

 


 

If you don't limit your search to full-text, you'll get more results, but some might not be available to read right away. You might get a result like this -

- when you click on the "Search for Full Text" button, it takes you to a page like this:

where you can choose the option for "Request this item through interlibrary loan" if you want to read the article.