Skip to main content

Images in the Humanities: Humanities Through the Arts

Citing Sources

When you've finished your research and it's time to build your bibliography, use a citation manual or take a look at our guide to citing sources with examples.

 

By Christine Zenino from Chicago, US (Chichen Itza  Uploaded by russavia) [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

By Laura Fanucchi (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/)], via Wikimedia Commons

By Razimantv at Malayalam Wikipedia [CC-BY-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/
by/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Joseph Karl Stieler [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

By Airair (Own work) [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/
copyleft/fdl.html), CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/) or CC-BY-2.5 (http://creativecommons.org/
licenses/by/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons

By Photo courtesy Antonis A. Kousoulis. [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

By Photo: Andreas Praefcke (Own work (own photograph)) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons

Welcome!

This guide is here as a quick way for you to find the resources we discussed in class.

If you need more help with your research, please feel free to contact us at Boreham Library! Email us at library@uafs.edu or call us at (479) 788-7200 - we're happy to help with finding books and articles, interlibrary loan, or citing sources.

Contents of this guide:

Finding Images in Wikimedia Commons

Wikimedia Commons is a repository for high-quality photos and graphics contributed by users. Try a search for your topic and odds are good that you'll find photos that you can reuse with proper attribution.

Often, if you find a photo that fits your topic, you can look at the Categories toward the bottom of your screen to find similar photos. For example:

This photo of the Dazu Wheel of Reincarnation is included in the category Dazu Rock Carvings at the bottom of its screen. Click that link and you'll be taken to other photos of the Dazu Rock Carvings.

Once you've found an image you'd like to use, scroll down to the Licensing portion of the page. For example, here's the portion for the Wheel of Reincarnation image above:

This indicates that it's OK for you to use this image if you attribute it correctly. To find attribution information, scroll back up and click the link to 

To properly attribute this image, you could copy the line "By Calton (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/ licenses/by-sa/3.0) or GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/ copyleft/fdl.html)], via Wikimedia Commons" and you could also include the URL of the image: http://upload.wikimedia. org/wikipedia/commons/ 3/32/Dazu_Wheel_ of_Reincarnation.JPG

When you download the image, you have the option to save copies of very high resolution. For example, the full-size Wheel of Reincarnation image above is 1,536 by 2,048 pixels. See the links right below the image to download high-resolution copies. Keep in mind that the larger the image, the larger the file will be when you save it into your Powerpoint.

Finding Images in ARTstor

ARTstor is a digital collection of high-quality downloadable images that are available for classroom use. You can feel free to use ARTstor images for your presentation as long as you don't redistribute them elsewhere.

Note: to download ARTstor images, you need to create an account. Once you're in the database, you can create an account via the menu on the upper right of your screen.

For example, here's one of the results that comes up when I search for Carcassonne:

I can download and use this entire image - or only a portion of it, if I want to focus on a particular detail. For instructions on downloading a full image, click here. For instructions on downloading only a detail of an image, click here.

For guidance on citing images that you find in ARTstor, click here.

Finding Images via Flickr: Creative Commons

Flickr's Creative Commons is another useful resource for finding images. Go to Flickr's Advanced Search page, enter your search term, and check the box next to "

Finding Images in Google Image Search

Google Images is a useful place to find images, but be cautious. Not all images available via Google can be easily attributed, and many will not offer attribution or other information.

Try a basic search, and then use the Search Tools menu at the top of your screen to see, for example, only large images that will be of a quality that you can use in your presentation.

Library Catalog

Our catalog's homepage is libcat.uafs.edu/search/X. A catalog search will default to a keyword search. If you want to get more specific with your searching, try a subject search instead.

When you're doing a search for a person, remember to search by last name first:

Rodin, Auguste

Beethoven, Ludwig van

Subject headings that come up in a search will lead you to more books that deal with your subject:

If you know exactly what book you're looking for and you want to see if we have it in the library, search for it by title.

Some of our books are available online as ebooks. Others you can find in the nonfiction collection (upstairs) or the reference collection (downstairs). Remember to bring the call number with you when you go to find a book in the library.

WorldCat and interlibrary loans

You might find that we don't have an article or book you want to read available in the library. We're happy to get it for you through interlibrary loan. Just be sure to plan ahead - articles can take about 3-5 days to arrive (often less) and books about 7-10 days.

When I find an article in a database and there's no direct link to "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text," I can click on the  button. If we don't have the article in one of our other databases, I'll be taken to a page like this:

To request the article, I'll just click "Request this item through interlibrary loan." This will take me to ILLiad, our service for placing interlibrary loans. (If I haven't used ILLiad before, I'll be asked to set up an account.)

When I log into ILLiad, the request form should already be filled out for me. I scroll to the bottom of the page and hit the  button. I can check on the status of my request later by logging into ILLiad with my username and password. I'll get an email once my article has arrived, and usually I can log into my ILLiad account and download it directly.

For books, I can go to WorldCat and search for the book by author and title, like in this example:

When my results come up, I find the title I want (usually the one with the most results, and click "Request Through Interlibrary Loan":