This guide is here as a quick way for you to find the resources we discussed in class.
If you need more help with your research, please feel free to contact us at Boreham Library! Email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or call us at (479) 788-7200 - we're happy to help with finding books and articles, interlibrary loan, or citing sources.
By Gian Lorenzo Bernini (Italian, 1598–1680) and students (Jastrow (2006)) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By anonymous (Universal Studios) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By Jean-Baptiste Coriolan (University of Oklahoma) [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By Andreas Schwarzkopf (Own work) [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)], via Wikimedia Commons
Odilon Redon [Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
By Alvin Padayachee [see page for license], via Wikimedia Commons
By Snoopywv [FAL], via Wikimedia Commons
[Public domain], via Wikimedia Commons
These are the databases we looked at in class:
Discover - our special "database of databases," which combines most of our databases with the Library catalog. Also available from the Library homepage. A good starting-point for research, but be sure to be specific with your search terms.
Credo Reference - useful for getting background information on your topic. Entries may include bibliographies with other useful articles and books.
Academic Search Premier - a general-purpose database with thousands of articles
MLA International Bibliography - citations for articles dealing with literature
Our catalog's homepage is libcat.uafs.edu. A catalog search will default to a keyword search. If you want to get more specific with your searching, try a subject search instead - click here to do a subject search.
When you're doing a subject search, type your subject heading and you'll be taken to a list that includes that subject heading and related ones. Subject headings that come up in a search will lead you to more books on your general subject, or on specific aspects of your subject's life and works. A few suggested subject headings are on your handout.
If you know exactly which book you're looking for and you want to see if we have it in the library, click here to do a title search.
Some of our books are available online as ebooks. Others you can find in the nonfiction collection (upstairs) or the reference collection (downstairs). Remember to bring the call number with you when you go to find a book in the library.
You might find that we don't have an article or book you want to read available in the library. We're happy to get it for you through interlibrary loan. Just be sure to plan ahead - articles can take about 3-5 days to arrive (often fewer) and books about 7-10 days.
When I find an article in a database and there's no direct link to "PDF Full Text" or "HTML Full Text," I can click on the button. If we don't have the article in one of our other databases, I'll be taken to a page like this:
To request the article, I'll just click "Request this item through interlibrary loan." This will take me to ILLiad, our service for placing interlibrary loans. (If I haven't used ILLiad before, I'll be asked to set up an account.)
When I log into ILLiad, the request form should already be filled out for me. I scroll to the bottom of the page and hit the button. I can check on the status of my request later by logging into ILLiad with my username and password. I'll get an email once my article has arrived, and usually I can log into my ILLiad account and download it directly.
For books, I can go to WorldCat and search for the book by author and title, like in this example:
When my results come up, I find the title I want (usually the one with the most results, and click "Request Through Interlibrary Loan":