Skip to main content

Persistent Links (PURLS): Persistent Links (PURLS)

This guide shows how to create persistent or stable links to articles in databases.

General Information

What is a PERSISTENT URL?

A persistent link or Persistent URL is a relatively stable way to ensure that you can bookmark an article or a book title and be able to link directly to the item at any time.  Persistent URLS are just that ---persistent or stable.  They are not 100% permanent.  Therefore, it is a good idea to check the links  periodically to make sure they are still working.

What are the uses of a Persistent URL?

Persistent URLs could be used to mark or identify articles for class readings or to create a folder of references for quick access to personal research.   Having class readings bookmarked for students is a convenience for both faculty and students.

How do you create a Persistent URL?

Each database vendor has a slightly different twist on creation of a Peristent URL, but the general procedure is much the same for most of the databases.  Some vendors refer to Persistent URLs as Permalinks or Bookmarks.  Other use a Document ID or DOI  (Digital Object Identifier) as the persistent link for an item.  This guide details the process for many of the most frequently used databases.  If a guide for the database you need is not listed, please contact a librarian for assistance.

 

Research Librarian

Carolyn Filippelli

 

Services Available from your Research Librarian:

  • Research Consultations (walk in or appointment)
  • Resource suggestions for Class Assignments and Group projects
  • Help with search strategies for databases and catalogs 
 
Contact Info:
Boreham Library, 1st floor
Office Phone: 479-788-7204
carolyn.filippelli@uafs.edu
 
   
 
 

Creating Links for Individual Databases

These are directions for creating persistent links for some of the most frequently-used databases.  Since Ebsco is the vendor for a number of library subscription databases, the procedure used for persistent link creation for Ebsco databases is essentially the same. 

  

  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. For an individual article, click on the link beneath it that says "Abstract-Details."
  3. Scroll toward the bottom of the page and find DOCUMENT URL.  
  4. Copy and paste the URL to the desired location, for example course files in Blackboard.

     Academic Search Premier               

  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. Click on the TITLE link for the article.
  3. At the right side of screen, click on the permalink symbol.      
  4. A screen with "Permalink" displays showing the URL for the individual article in the top window.  The proxy settings are already included so that the article is accessible both on and off campus.
  5. Copy the entire link and paste the link to the desired location, for example reserve readings in Blackboard or a course web site.

 


  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. Click on the TITLE LINK for the article.
  3. Within the publication information, look for the abbreviation  "doi."   A DOI or Digital Object Identifier is the unique locator for the article. 
  4. Copy and paste the complete DOI to the desired location, for example course files in Blackboard.

 America: History and Life         See directions for Academic Search Premier.


  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. Display the Abstract and References.
  3. Near the top of the screen above the title information, look for the "doi."  A DOI or Digital Object Identifier is the unique locator for the article.
  4. Note that the link begins with http://0-     .  The entire link must be copied for the article to be accessible on an off campus. 
  5. Paste the link to the desired location, for example course files in Blackboard.

Boreham Library Catalog

  1. Search the catalog and locate the book.
  2. Click on the link for the book to display the complete record.
  3. On the left side near the bottom of the page are the words, "Persistent Link to this Title."
  4. Click on "Persistent Link to this Title" to establish a stable link to the book in the catalog.
  5. Paste the URL in the desired location, for example course files in Blackboard.

Business Source Elite                See directions for Academic Search Premier.


CINAHL Plus With Full Text      See directions for Academic Search Premier.


 ERIC                                           See directions for Academic Search Premier.


Health Source Nursing             See directions for Academic Search Premier.


  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. Display the title link for the article.
  3. In the publication information on the article, look for the term DOI or "Digital Object Identifier."  Right click on the DOI and copy the shortcut.
  4. Paste the shortcut to the desired location, for example course files in Blackboard. The link begins with http://0-.
  5. If the paste function doesn't work the first time, repeat the process until the link appears. 

        

  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. Display the title link for the article.
  3. At the top of the screen near the publication information, look for the term "Stable URL".
  4. Copy the entire link following the words "Stable URL" including the beginning http://0-.
  5. Paste the link to the desired location, for example Blackboard or a course site.


Music Index                         See directions for Academic Search Premier 


 

  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. Click on the TITLE LINK for the article.
  3. At the right of the screen, click on "Bookmark this document."
  4. A new screen opens showing a window with the wording " Copy the Bookmark URL and paste it into another document."
  5. Copy and paste the URL to the desired location, for example Blackboard or a course site.

  

  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. Display the title link for the article.
  3. At the top of the screen in the browser window, view the persistent link for the article.
  4. This begins with http://0-.
  5. Copy the entire link to ensure that the article will be accessible on and off campus.
  6. Paste the link to the desired location, for example course files in Lionslink or Blackboard. 

   PsycArticles and PsycINFO         See directions for Academic Search Premier.


   Science Direct

  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. Click on the TITLE LINK for the article.
  3. Near the top of screen in the publication information, look for the abbreviation  "doi."   A DOI or Digital Object Identifier is the unique locator for the article.  This doi already includes the correct proxy information to make the article accessible on and off campus.
  4. Just copy and paste the entire link  to the desired location, for example Blackboard or a course site.

   SocINDEX                        See directions for Academic Search Premier.


   

  1. Search the database and locate the article.
  2. Click on the TITLE LINK for the article.
  3. In the browser window at the top of screen, view the persistent link for the article.  The link begins with http://0- and includes a doi  or Digital Object Identifier as part of the address. 
  4. Copy and paste the entire URL to the desired location, for example Blackboard or a course site.