Skip to main content

History: Southeast Asia: Welcome

CREDO Reference

Background

Background exploration of a topic  is crucial to good research.  Reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are the tools to use if you want to get an overview of a subject, find definitions of terms, get biographical information on a key figure in the field, or locate recommended lists of readings.

Look at some of the background sources recommended, whether they are individual print and electronic titles or collections in a database.

For quick overview information on a specific country, try some of the following resources:

Welcome

     Buddhist monks in front of the reflection pool at Angkor Wat, Cambodia

  This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.

Angkor Wat (Khmer: អង្គរវត្ត) is a temple complex at Angkor, Cambodia, built by King Suryavarman II in the early 12th century as his state temple and capital city.

Reference Print Titles

                    

Cambridge History of Southeast Asia        Countries and Their Cultures

Nonfiction 959 C144 (2 vols.)                     Ref 363.03 C83265tc

(Also in electronic version)                               

               Cover Art

Encyclopedia of Modern Asia           Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War                     

 Ref 950.03 En194ma                        Ref 959.70403 V678e

 Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

Ref 305.8003 W89388e

 

Reference Sources (Electronic)

The following titles are available as electronic books in the Boreham Library.  Click directly on the  link to go to the electronic book.

Cover Art                          

Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War                 Historical Dictionary of the Indochina War

      

  Landmark Speeches on the Vietnam War

Research Librarian

Profile Image

M.A., M.L.S.  Social Sciences

email:  carolyn.filippelli@uafs.edu  Office phone:  479-788-7204 

 Services Available from your Research Librarian:

  • Research Consultations (walk in or appointment)
  • Resource suggestions for class assignments and group projects 
  • Help with search strategies for databases and catalogs