Skip to main content

Sociology: Getting Started

This guide is an introduction to basic resources for the field of sociology.

Background Information

Background exploration of a topic is crucial to good research.  Reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are the tools to use if you want to get an overview of a subject, find definitions of terms, get biographical information on a key figure in the field, or locate recommended lists of readings.

Background sources include special databases as well as individual print and electronic reference book titles.  Take a look at some of the recommended resources for sociology.

Databases (General and Megasearch)

CREDO s a database that is useful for background.   CREDO contains a collection of electronic reference titles including specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and biographical sources.

DISCOVER searches Ebsco databases, the Boreham Catalog, and some other databases like JSTOR.

Proquest searches across 30 Proquest databases - no books.

Welcome

This is a guide to information resources for Sociology.  As you do your research, you can click on the tabs above to find out how to get articles, books, and other resources.  Before beginning research, it is a good idea to do some background exploration of a topic. 

 

                            "Rush Hour" from the National Archives

Reference Print Titles

These print reference books are available in the Boreham Library and are shelved on the second floor by call number.

Reference E-Books

These are some electronic books accessible from the Boreham Library catalog.

Research Librarian

 Profile Image
 Contact Info:
Boreham Library, 1st floor
Office Phone: 479-788-7204
carolyn.filippelli@uafs.edu
 
Services Available from your Research Librarian:
  • Research Consultations (walk in or appointment)
  • Resource suggestions for class assignments and group projects
  • Help with search strategies for databases and catalogs
  • Library instruction classes