Skip to main content

History: U.S. History: Getting Started

Welcome

This is a guide to resources for U.S. History.  Use the tabs above to find out how to get information from books, articles, and other resources.    

                                                           

                                       

                                                                             

          White House - North Lawn

This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 Unported license.

Background Information

Background exploration of a topic is crucial to good research.  Reference encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks are the tools to use if you need an overview of a subject, definitions of terms, biographical information on a key figure in the field, or  recommended lists of readings.

Look at some of the background sources recommended, whether they are individual print or electronic titles or collections in a database.

Reference Print Titles

 These are examples of some specialized reference encyclopedias for history.  Additional titles are indexed in the catalog and can be searched by subject or keyword. 

                

Blackwell E of Amer. Rev.    Colonial America                      Documents of American History

Ref 973.303 B568                 Ref 973.203 C7184a               Ref 973 C735d

             

   Early Republic                 Enc.of American Constitution     Enc. of American Social History  

   Ref  973.3003 ea765r      Ref  973.3003 Ea765r                 Ref 301 En10sh

  

                          

  Encyclopedia of the Cold War     Enc.. of Women's History    Louisiana Purchase

  Ref 909.82 Ar56e                      Ref 305.4097303 C897ew     Ref 973.46 L9307p

         

                                          Cover Art

 

 New Encyclopedia of the American West           PostWar America: An Encyclopedia

 Ref 978.003 N420lle                                         Ref 973.9203 P8471a     

        

 

 

Subject Guide

Carolyn Filippelli's picture
Carolyn Filippelli
Contact:
Boreham Library
Office 120
M.A., M.L.S.
479-788-7204