Skip to main content
Peer-reviewed journal articles have gone through a special review process (peer review, naturally). This means scholars of a discipline have read an article carefully and determined that it makes a worthwhile contribution and was researched correctly. This is why instructors prefer you to use peer-reviewed articles -- it guarantees that your sources are good ones.
To find an article, search the Journal Locator for the journal title. Here's an example of where in the citation you'll find the title.
If we don't have access, you can request the article through interlibrary loan.
Want to know if the Library has electronic access to your favorite journal title? Look for it using the TITLE or ISSN search or browse for e-journals by subject.
Articles, books, and other materials in one comprehensive search!
Use this database to locate full-text articles from scholarly journals. Important: JSTOR is an initiative to store the full-text of important journals in a secure environment. Issues for the current 3-5 years are not available. Subjects cover all aspects of the arts, humanities, and social sciences.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Use this database to locate journal articles and parts of books dealing with U.S. and Canadian history, area studies and current affairs literature. Subject coverage includes history, interdisciplinary studies of historical interest, and history-related topics in the social sciences and humanities.
A cross-disciplinary research tool with 30 databases that can be searched together or individually.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a database containing citations to articles and other sources in all areas of knowledge. (The database doesn't include full text, but links to full text if we have access.) Try Firefox first for this database -- it's not working correctly in Chrome right now.
Other Useful Databases
Academic Search Complete
Use this multi-disciplinary database to locate full text articles appearing in scholarly journals, including thousands of peer-reviewed titles.
A collection of journals and other full-text resources dealing with government, politics, and law. You can also search here for federal and state court cases and laws.
Historical Statistics of the United States
Use this database to locate quantitative indicators of American history. Contents include statistics on population, work and welfare, economics, governance and international relations.