Skip to main content

Fort Chaffee Topics: Research Topics

Topics pertaining to Fort Chaffee

Camp Chaffee

              

Post card from Pebley collection

Picture from Pebley collection

Chaffee Memorial

Chaffee Memorials.  Photos courtesy of Harold Maynard

Fort Chaffee Museum Collections

COMING SOON!  Digital Repository of Fort Chaffee Museum Collections.  Photos, military items, reports, personal collections, oral histories.

 

Photo courtesy of Fort Chaffee Museums Collection

Aerial view of Fort Chaffee ca. 1950s

Southeast Asian refugee arrival at Ft. Chaffee in 1975.

Refugees from Cuba celebrate heritage festival at Ft. Chaffee in 1980.

ASIAN REFUGEES

PDF via Boreham Library Operations New Life/New Arrivals, US Army support to the Indochinese refugee program, 1 April 1975 1 June 1976

https://www.census.gov/about/partners/cic/resources/data-links/asian.html Census

http://www.migrationpolicy.org/article/vietnamese-immigrants-united-states

http://ualrpublicradio.org/post/40-years-ago-arkansas-military-base-became-refugee-camp#stream/0 NPR

http://seaa.lib.uci.edu/

http://www.oac.cdlib.org/findaid/ark:/13030/kt2f59q35j/

http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=5562

http://www.hmongstudiesjournal.org/

http://www.hmonglibrary.org/hmong-studies-virtual-library.html

https://www.census.gov/prod/cen2010/briefs/c2010br-11.pdf

http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=93787149

http://prospect.org/article/serfs-arkansas-0

http://previous.lib.uci.edu/about/publications/exhibits/seaexhibit/index.html

A Vietnamese newspaper, the Tan Dan, began publication two days after the first refugees’ arrival. We have some copies of issues of the paper in the Pebley Center. We also have copies of the Helping Hand, a Chaffee publication.

Oral histories of educators at Westark Community College conducting English as a second language and oral histories of refugees who went through Fort Chaffee

Photos in the Pebley Center in Sondra Lamar and Carol Barger Collections and SE Asia Collection available in the Pebley Center

CUBAN REFUGEES

PDF via Boreham Library Task Force Resettlement Operation, After Action Report, Fort Chaffee, Arkansas, 7 May 1980-19 February 1982

Books: Impacting Arkansas: Vietnamese and Cuban refugees and Latina/o immigrants, 1975-2005 [PDF document] / by Perla M. Guerrero.

Nuevo South : Latinas/os, Asians, and the remaking of place / Perla M. Guerrero.

Misc. newspaper articles available in the Pebley Center

https://people.com/archive/plagued-by-heat-crime-and-snafus-the-fort-chaffee-refugee-camp-becomes-an-american-nightmare-vol-14-no-1/

http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=4248

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2015/11/17/the-forgotten-story-of-how-refugees-almost-ended-bill-clintons-career/?noredirect=on&utm_term=.371d1917f75e

https://newsok.com/article/2736746/boatlift-vivid-memory-for-cubans-in-arkansas?